This week’s contribution to Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness is one I took a few weeks ago on a trip around Jamsil. I went to look around the Lotte World mall at the base of the Lotte Tower which is, for the time being, the tallest building in Korea. I intended to get a photo of the amazing mock-up of the Trevi Fountain in the hall of Jamsil underground station, but there was a market blocking the view and the fountain wasn’t running, so I’ll be taking a trip back some time.

As you can see, the mall itself is a wonder of opulence; dripping in high end fashion and luxury brands. I was quite taken by the mirrored escalators and dangling chandeliers. I got this picture up the tower from what I think may be called the ‘Sky Bridge’ between Lotte and the equally indulgent Avenue-L. From here you can only barely make out the remaining cranes and netting which indicates the ongoing work at the top and it looks pretty close to the finished article. However you look at it, it’s pretty gargantuan.

Happy snapping, folks.

Lotte Tower

Lotte Tower

Ruffle my feathers

