This entry is from my holiday trot around Tokyo, from which more photos will shortly follow. The folks at the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge asked us to make the grid a feature of the shot, for once. And I had just snapped this particular grid which had captured my attention.

Tokyo Grid - Museum of Contemporary Art

Tokyo Grid – Museum of Contemporary Art

On my first day of sightseeing, I visited the impressive Tokyo Museum of Contemporary Art in Koto. As well as a great collection of carefully curated Japanese post-war art which they were displaying in their permanent collection, the museum building itself is worth visiting for the impressive architecture and great park next to one of Tokyo’s many canals.

Despite my penchant for Lightroom tinkering, this is exactly as it came out of the camera (except for the watermark) as I was particularly taken by the way the severe lines of the building’s wall cut off the lines of the blinds, which ran parallel to the lines of the distant bridge.

Tokyo Museum of Contemporary Art

Tokyo Museum of Contemporary Art

The below is a view of the entrance taken from an angle, mostly because of the close range. I like how the triangles of the huge entryway complement the triangle of car park, though. I’ve included this one bacause of the delicate latticework of the structure. Like a butterfly colossus.

Check out more impressive Grids on this week’s challenge page.

Where do you go off the grid?

Happy snapping, folks.

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Grid

Ruffle my feathers

