It’s high time for another dip into Leanne Cole’s Monochrome Madness. I’ve had little opportunity to venture out with the camera, but a good woman can’t be kept down. Neither can a not-that-good-but-VERY-enthusiastic-amateur-photographer woman.

Intrigued by the wildlife that surrounds me in my new abode, I’ve whipped out the telephoto lens a couple of time to track the various bugs that call my home their home – or is it their home that I’m calling my home? Probably the latter. I spend a good half hour in the tiny backyard when I spotted not one, but three of these tiny lizards, no longer than 2 inches from snout to tail-tip. I had to get out the Big Guns and take advantage of their ability to stand absolutely, unblinkingly still in the face of danger.

What I ended up with was a roll of blur and fuzz, and then this absolute gem of an action-lizard portrait.

Backyard friends

Backyard friends

As ever, I strongly recommend you bob over to Leanne Cole’s blog to check out all of this week’s amazing monochrome entries here.

What’s living in your back yard?

Happy snapping, folks.

Ruffle my feathers

